Berkley MSBA School Building Committee Meeting September 29, 2021

AGENDA ITEM #1: CALL TO ORDER

The MSBA School Building Committee Meeting was held at the Berkley Town Hall Meeting Room on Wednesday, September 29, 2021. Mrs. Tara Weber, School Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:09 pm.

Present

Melissa Ryan

Tara Weber

Jilleen Solomon

Dean Larabee

Heather Martin-Sterling

Joseph Freitas

Kate Simons

Barbara Miller

Michael McDonough

Timothy McCarthy

Jennifer Francisco

Sarah Cogar

The meeting was electronically recorded by Berkley Cable.

AGENDA ITEM #2: NEW BUSINESS

Ms. Weber called for nominations for Chairperson.

It was moved by Mr. Francisco and seconded by Ms. Solomon to nominate Tara Weber Chairperson

Vote Tara Weber Chairperson: Melissa Ryan - Aye

Jilleen Solomon - Aye Dean Larabee - Aye

Heather Martin-Sterling - Aye

Joseph Freitas - Aye Kate Simons - Aye Barbara Miller - Aye

Michael McDonough - Aye Timothy McCarthy - Aye Jennifer Francisco - Aye

Sarah Cogar - Aye

Ms. Weber called for nomination for Vice-Chairperson.

It was moved by Mr. Larabee and seconded by Ms. Solomon to nominate Barbara Miller Vice Chairperson.

Vote Barbara Miller Vice Chair: Melissa Ryan - Aye

Tara Weber - Aye Jilleen Solomon - Aye Dean Larabee - Aye

Heather Martin-Sterling - Aye

Joseph Freitas - Aye Kate Simons - Aye

Michael McDonough - Aye Timothy McCarthy - Aye Jennifer Francisco - Aye Sarah Cogar - Aye

Ms. Weber called for nomination for Secretary.

It was moved by Ms. Porter and seconded by Ms. Martin-Sterling to nominate Melissa Ryan Secretary.

Vote Melissa Ryan Secretary: Tara Weber - Aye

Jilleen Solomon - Aye Dean Larabee - Aye

Heather martin-Sterling - Aye

Joseph Freitas - Aye Kate Simons - Aye

Michael McDonough - Aye Timothy McCarthy - Aye Jennifer Francisco - Aye Sarah Cogar - Aye

Barbara Miller - Aye

Ms. Ryan provided the committee with an update of the MSBA eligibility process. The eligibility window opened on September 1, 2021. Ms. Ryan has submitted the certification of eligibility for Berkley Public Schools and the Building Committee Members. The next major milestone is the vote at Town meeting to appropriate some additional funds for the feasibility study.

Ms. Sterling-Martin requested that the Chair take agenda items out of order so that the committee could continue to discuss the money needed for appropriations. Ms. Weber moved to take agenda items 4 before number 3.

Ms. Martin-Sterling explained that she and Ms. Ryan met with the MSBA and they explained that schools need to appropriate at least \$500,000 to be accepted into eligibility. The town has already appropriated just under \$300,000 for a feasibility study and that at the Special Town Meeting in November the

committee should request a warrant to appropriate additional funds to bring the amount to the \$500,000 threshold required by the MSBA. There was a discussion about where the town would get those additional funds. The next select board meeting is October 13 to request a vote to include a warrant at the special town meeting.

It was moved by Ms. Jilleen Solomon and seconded by Barbara Miller to recommend increasing the MSBA appropriation to \$500,000 at the special town meeting in November.

Vote to Increase Appropriation: Tara Weber - Aye

Jilleen Solomon - Aye Dean Larabee - Abstain

Heather martin-Sterling - Aye

Joseph Freitas - Aye Kate Simons - Aye

Michael McDonough - Aye Timothy McCarthy - Aye Jennifer Francisco - Aye

Sarah Cogar - Aye Barbara Miller - Aye Melissa Ryan - Aye

The next meeting for the MSBA Building Committee will be October 18, 2021 at the Berkley Community School cafeteria at 7:00 pm.

AGENDA ITEM #3: ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Mr. Larabee and seconded by Heather Martin-Sterling and voted to adjourn at 6:00 pm.

Vote to adjourn: Tara Weber - Aye

Jilleen Solomon - Aye Dean Larabee - Aye

Heather martin-Sterling - Aye

Joseph Freitas - Aye Kate Simons - Aye

Michael McDonough - Aye Timothy McCarthy - Aye Jennifer Francisco - Aye

Sarah Cogar - Aye Barbara Miller - Aye Melissa Ryan - Aye Respectfully submitted,

Melissa Eakins-Ryan, Secretary